“Happy Father’s Day, Jackie”

Today, June 17th, 2017 was my 3rd Father’s Day celebrating my step mother Jackie. Technically I guess you can argue that I should have been celebrating her for the last 13 years of my life because that’s how long she’s been really playing both mommy and daddy roles but prior to 2014, my father was still in my life. So instead of celebrating my dead beat dad for absolutely no reason, I decided to start celebrating Jackie 3 years ago because to me it made more sense. Jackie and her family has done everything for my sister and I and even though her and my dad are split up now, Jackie will always be in my life and will always be like a mom to me. She even has a new boyfriend and a little boy named Joseph who calls me sissy and it completely melts my heart. She’s been there through everything and I can’t imagine my life without her and I’ll never be able to thank her for everything she’s done and sacrifice for me, so the absolute least I can do is give her some regonition.

My writing this post however is not to trash my dad because well, I think my last blog post can speak for itself but instead- this is to talk about the importance of recognizing the people who matter in your life. Recently my younger sister has been completely trying to seperate herself from the family and the vibe we’re all getting is she doesn’t want to be a part of any family anymore. As sad as this is I can’t say it hasn’t helped me in a way. My sister’s lack of interest has made me realize how truly lucky I am. Why? Because my sister ignores, is rude, and disrespects my family all the time and you know what? They still fucking love and adore her. And this includes Jackie.

I feel like days like this should be about celebrating the ones who you love and my sister doesn’t get that. She probably called my father today even though he’s an asshole and completely forgot about Jackie. Which is so sad to me because Jackie is the one who actually cares not my dad.

i just feel like there is no reason to feel compelled to tell your dad happy Father’s Day when he doesn’t give a shit. Say it your mom, or sister, or grandfather or anyone else who you love and appreciate. No matter who it is just tell that person and let them know you recognize the stuff they do for you, it’s so important.

Michelle, Randomvoicesblog

About randomvoicesblog

I'm a college student, writer, and social enthusiast. I haven't been normal for nearly 22 years, and I don't plan on starting now. I've decided to start a blog to document my life and to help myself while I'm dealing with the obstacles life throws at me. It is rather simple actually, this blog is meant to be about anything and everything in regards to my life, opinions, and struggles. Some posts might be funny and happy while other not so much- this is just a collection of my inner most personal, dynamic, and random thoughts about myself, society, and humans in general.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

